Slovenian electronic music pioneers and video art trailblazers Borghesia were formed in Ljubljana in 1982. They developed from the alternative theatre group Theatre FV-112/15. Seeking uncharted forms of audio-visual expression in a decaying former Yugoslavia, the then-duo formed by producer Aldo Ivančič and singer Dario Seraval called for a new musical and aesthetic language. As in the case of their contemporaries Laibach, the prohibited, tabooed and repressed were forced under the magnifying glass.

As trailblazers of Slovenian electronic music and video art, they contributed to the blossoming of the European electronic body music scene. Borghesia's releases for the cult indie label Play It Again Sam are considered one of the heights of abrasive and dark electronic sounds of the late 80s. Their playful but eerie vision of EBM was put to rest just before the new millennium. A new Borghesia was formed and its membership expanded in 2009. The long awaited comeback album 'And Man Created God' (Metropolis Records, 2014) marked a change of course, opting for a more orchestrated rock-oriented sound. In 2016 Borghesia released the live EP 'Better Live Than Dead' (Moonlee Records, 2016) to capture their new sonic vision.

Borghesia’s new album 'Proti kapitulaciji' (Moonlee Records, 2018) is a free-floating retrofuturist industrial art rock epic based on Srečko Kosovel’s modernist poetry that sits somewhere between an alternative soundtrack of Blade Runner, the uncanny ambience of Coil, melancholy of Berlin era David Bowie and immediacy of Nine Inch Nails. Prepare to be thrilled and petrified in equal measure.

The current lineup includes:

  • Aldo Ivančič - production, arrangements
  • Dario Seraval - vocals
  • Irena Zagoričnik Tomažin - vocals
  • Ivo Poderžaj - vocals
  • Jelena Rusjan - vocals, bass
  • Sašo Benko - guitar

Upcoming shows

  • 19.04.2019 @ Orto Bar, Ljubljana (SI)
  • 11.05.2019 @ Elektropionir, Belgrade (RS)
  • 22.06.2019 @ Msu - Museum of Contemporary Art, Zagreb (HR)
  • 25.05.2019 @ SNG, Nova Gorica (SI)
  • 28.11.2019 @ Pin Conference Festival 2019, Skopje (MK)

Borghesia - Proti kapitulaciji

Proti kapitulaciji

Borghesia - Better Live Than Dead

Better Live Than Dead




EBM, industrial, art rock, dark ambiental, experimental

Years active

1982 - present


  • Dario Seraval - vocals, programming
  • Aldo Ivančič - drums, programming
  • Andrej Mazi - guitar
  • Jelena Rusjan - bass, vocals